skip to Main Content
What Are The Penalties For A First DWI Offense In Texas

What are the Penalties for a First DWI Offense in Texas

What are the Penalties for a First DWI Offense in Texas

You may have heard the phrase “Don’t Mess With Texas.” It wasn’t created with criminal prosecution of DWI in Texas in mind, but it might as well have been. Your first DWI offense in Texas is nothing to be taken lightly and the penalties you can expect are severe.

First DWI Offense

  • Offense Level: Class B Misdemeanor
  • Maximum Fine: Up to $3,000
  • Jail Range: 72 hours to 180 days in county jail
  • License Suspension: 90 to 365 days

First DWI Offense with Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) at or over .15

  • Offense Level: Class A Misdemeanor
  • Maximum Fine: Up to $6,000
  • Jail Range: 72 hours to 1 year in county jail
  • License Suspension: 90 to 365 days

First DWI Offense with Open Container Enhancement

  • Offense Level: Class B Misdemeanor
  • Maximum Fine: Up to $3,000
  • Jail Range: 6 days to 180 days in county jail
  • License Suspension: 90 to 365 days

First DWI Offense with Child Passenger – Child Younger than 15 Years of Age

  • Offense Level: State Jail Felony
  • Maximum Fine: Up to $10,000
  • Jail Range: 6 months to 2 years in state jail
  • License Suspension: 90 days to 2 years

First DWI Offense Intoxication Assault (DWI with Injury)*

  • Offense Level: 3rd Degree Felony
  • Maximum Fine: Up to $10,000
  • Jail Range: 2 to 10 years to life in Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ)
  • License Suspension: 180 days to 2 years

First DWI Offense – Intoxication Manslaughter (DWI Death)*

  • Offense Level: 2nd Degree Felony
  • Maximum Fine: Up to $10,000
  • Jail Range: 2 to 10 years to life in Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ)
  • License Suspension: 180 days to 2 years

First DWI Offense – Commercial Driving License (CDL)

  • Offense Level: Class B Misdemeanor
  • Maximum Fine: Up to $3,000
  • Jail Range: 6 days to 180 days in county jail
  • License Suspension: 90 to 365 days

 

If you or a loved one are considering pleading the case out to put it behind you, think again.  The system does not offer you any leniency because you are accountable. You are setting yourself up for failure and possibly seriously damaging the rest of your life.

Don’t let you one mistake be the one that ruins your life. Call Clyde W. Burleson, P.C. today 24/7 at 713-628-1503

 

* Penalties are increased in the case of “enhanced offenses.” These are defined by Texas Penal Code § 49.09, and include injuring a firefighter, peace officer, or other emergency medical personnel, or causing a traumatic brain injury that results in a persistent vegetative state.

Back To Top