skip to Main Content
Third DWI Conviction

What are the Penalties for a Third DWI Conviction in Houston, Texas?

What are the Penalties for a Third DWI Conviction in Houston, Texas?

A third DWI conviction in Texas is a felony. Sure, everyone makes mistakes. DWI convictions can be easier to forgive when they are classified as misdemeanors, as is the case with first and second DWI convictions. Consequences are more extreme and prosecutors will stop at nothing to convict a repeat offender. Aside m getting help for your drinking problem, you need to hire a proven DWI lawyer like Clyde W. Burleson, P.C. to help you get your life on the right track.

Third DWI Conviction Penalties

If you are arrested in Texas with two prior convictions on your record, you can expect the following penalties:

  • Offense Level: 3rd degree felony
  • Maximum Fine: Up to $4,000
  • State Surcharge / Superfines: Up to $6,000
  • Prison sentence: 2 to 10 years in Texas department of Corrections
  • Driver’s license suspension: up to 2 years
  • Driver’s license reinstatement surcharge: $2,000 per year for three years

Collateral Consequences

As with a first and second DWI conviction, a third conviction also comes with collateral consequences. These consequences are not part of the legal penalties that come with a third DWI conviction, but these consequences can have a shattering effect on your personal and/or professional life. Some of the most common collateral consequences could include the loss of:

Avoid a Third DWI Conviction, Call Clyde Burleson

If you have been arrested for a third time, call Clyde W. Burleson, P.C. at 713-628-1503 for a free consultation and to make up for the last two times you didn’t call him! Don’t leave your future in the hands of a court appointed attorney / public defender

 

Back To Top