What are DWI Education Programs?
There are several types of DWI education programs that are regulated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation:
DWI Education Program
In short, this is a 12-hour program (2 days) that costs approximately $70. The goal of this class increases knowledge about alcohol, both in regard to personal use and as it pertains to DWI. For example:
- DWI laws, DWI penalties & the cost of DWI in Texas
- DWI Legal Process
- Effects of alcohol on humans
- Effects of alcohol on driving
DWI Intervention Program
In short, this is a 32-hour program (several weeks) that costs approximately $160. The goal of the class is to intervene in drinking behaviors and encourage entry into treatment and prevent further alcohol abuse. For example:
- Lifestyle issues, values & self-esteem
- Positive thinking vs. irrational beliefs
- Physiological/psychological effects of drugs & alcoholism
- Chemical dependency, co-dependency and collateral consequences of a DWI
- Responsibility, problem solving & action planning
- Treatment options & relapse prevention
Alcohol Education for Minors
In short, this is a 6-hour program (1 day) that costs approximately $45. The goal of the class is to increase knowledge about alcohol and drug use in minors. For example:
- Societal values related to alcohol consumption by minors
- The physical, social and psychological effects of alcohol upon young people
- The relationship between motor vehicle accidents and alcohol use
- Relevant laws relating to the purchase, possession or consumption of alcoholic beverages by minors
- Drinking patterns and problems of young people including abuse and addiction
- Decision making skills
NEW – Online Alcohol Education Classes During Coronavirus
In most cases, alcohol education programs require that instructors must be physically present in the classroom with all of the participants. However, this requirement has been waived by Governor Greg Abbott to provide education via remote classroom instruction. For further clarification, visit Online Alcohol Education Classes during COVID-19.
Contact Clyde W. Burleson P.C.
Above all, If you would like to avoid DWI Education Programs, contact Clyde W. Burleson P.C. at 713-628-1503 for a free consultation.