skip to Main Content
What Are The Penalties For Underage DWI In Houston, Texas?

What are the Penalties for Underage DWI in Houston, Texas?

Alcohol-impaired driving by people under the age of 21 is a top cause of driving fatalities in Texas.  To clarify, according to Responsibility.org, the latest statistics estimate that over 34% of all driving fatalities are caused by impaired minors. That is a 40% increase over the national average of 24%.  This is one reason why penalties for underage DWI can be more strict than for DWI over 21. If you are underage and have been charged with DWI, it is essential that you act quickly and contact a Houston DWI lawyer.

 

Texas Underage DWI: Texas is a Zero Tolerance State

If you’re 21 years or older, it is illegal to drive if your BAC is over .08% or if the arresting officer feels you do not have the normal use of your faculties by reason of alcohol and/or drugs.

In Texas, a minor can get a DWI with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. They will be arrested for driving under the influence and will be charged under Texas’ Special Zero-Tolerance Rules for Minors.

The Penalties for Underage DWI in Houston, Texas

If arrested for DWI, you face the following penalties.

DWI – Minors Under 17 Years of Age (Class C misdemeanor)

  • Fine up to $500
  • Minimum 60-day license suspension
  • Up to 40 hours of community service
  • Mandatory attendance in an alcohol awareness course

DWI – Minors 17 to 20 Years of Age (Class B misdemeanor)

  • Fine up to $2000
  • Minimum 1 year license suspension
  • Maximum 180 days in jail

A second conviction will result in:

  • Fine up to $4000
  • Minimum 1 year license suspension
  • Maximum 365 days in jail

Associated Criminal Charges

On top of all this, those charged with underage DWI often find themselves charged with associated criminal charges such as:

  • Minor in possession
  • Possession of false ID
  • Distribution of alcohol to minors
  • Child endangerment
  • Soliciting alcohol

Contact an Underage DWI Lawyer to Get The Best Possible DWI Defense.

Call Clyde Burleson at  713-628-1503 for a free consultation.  Don’t leave your future in the hands of a public defender and do not plead guilty! You can beat a DWI with the right DWI defense.

Back To Top