Houston DWI Lawyer Cost & Fees
Call Houston DWI Lawyer Clyde W. Burleson at ☎ 713-628-1503 For a Free Consultation
If you are arrested for DWI in Houston, you need a DWI lawyer. Call Clyde W. Burleson, P.C. at 713-628-1503 for a free consultation and to discuss the cost of a DWI lawyer.
How Much Does a Houston DWI Lawyer Cost?
- You can expect lawyer fees to average $5000 for cases that do not go to trial.
- You can expect lawyer fees to average $10,000 if your case goes to court.
- The national average for hiring a DWI attorney is $6,500.
- A first DWI charge with few or no disputed facts will cost $1000 to $1,500.
- Lawyer fees for a DWI case that goes to trial range from $4,000 to $20,00, but can exceed this amount based on past convictions and the complexity of the case.
- If you choose to go to trial, the testimony of expert witnesses can add $2,000 to $7,000 or more.
- Your attorney will cost more if there are retrials or appeals.
Houston DWI Lawyer Cost Depends on a Lot of Variables
Each law firm charges different fees for these cases, and the charges will differ based on several factors. These factors include, but are not limited to:
- The gravity of the offense and/or any enhanced offense charges.
- The lawyer’s experience and specialization.
- Time spent collecting evidence and documentation.
- Number of court appearances.
It may be difficult for a law firm to give you an accurate estimate of how much your legal fees will be without knowing the specific details of the offense.
What Else Should You Know About the Cost of a DWI Lawyer in Houston, Texas:
Free DWI Consultation
- Most lawyers provide a free initial DWI consultation to go over the facts of your case while some charge their hourly rate for the time.
DWI Lawyer Fees
- A DWI attorney may charge a flat fee or an hourly rate of $100 to $300.
- A lawyer charging on an hourly basis deducts the hourly rate from the retainer as the work is done.
- When the retainer is gone, you’ll be billed for additional payment
- Attorneys working on an hourly basis charge for time spent answering your questions on the phone or by e-mail, as well as case-related expenses such as interviews, research or photocopies.
- Many experienced DUI/DWI lawyers say that charging higher fees lets them represent fewer clients, so they can devote more time to each case.
- Repeated offenses carry heavier penalties, and in Texas a third DWI charge is automatically a felony.
Communication & Documentation
- When you first meet with an attorney, know the exact charges against you, your court date, your bail bond amount, and any other pertinent facts.
- Your attorney should provide you with a detailed written fee agreement.
- Read it before signing and keep a copy for your records.
Call for a Free Houston DWI Consultation
During this initial consultation, you will find out the fee schedule and expected additional costs.
The Cost of a Houston DWI Lawyer is Less Than The Potential Cost of Not Hiring a DWI Lawyer
You can’t only consider what the cost of a DWI lawyer will be. You must also consider the cost if you don’t hire an attorney. These include the cost of a DWI as well as the collateral costs of a DWI. A felony DWI conviction can prevent or limit:
- Job opportunities.
- Voting rights.
- Buying, owning, or possessing a firearm.
- Your ability to serve on a jury.
- College and graduate school admission.
- Receiving scholarships or financial aid.
- Renting an apartment or obtaining a mortgage.
- Joining the military or law enforcement agencies.
- Obtaining a security clearance
- Professional licensing like legal, nursing, medical, dental, or teaching; or
If you’ve been arrested for DWI, call Clyde W. Burleson at 713-628-1503 for a free consultation. He has many payment options that work with any budget. When you consider all factors, the cost of a DWI lawyer is much less that the potential cost of not hiring a proven DWI lawyer.